monicaflores

Big Girls Don’t Cry

OH, HI FRIENDS. It’s been a minute.

Let me begin by addressing my last blog post – it wasn’t a roaring success, as you may have guessed (did you bet against me? I don’t blame you). Some things have stuck, like committing to having breakfast every morning and wearing sunscreen. To be honest, I’m surprised anything stuck at all.

Lots of news:

  • Our sailor is home! I think we missed him almost as much as he missed land. Dominic has been back for a few weeks now and is settling into his new apartment and getting it ready for Luz’s homecoming. He was nothing short of a godsend when it came to moving out of my old place. Now I get to relish in having a big brother close (but not too close) to help a sister out.
  • The Pensacola Half Marathon is in early November and we’re now just shy of 12 weeks away, so training is in full effect. We’re trying to get the whole Flores sibling squad on board this go-round (lookin’ at you, Dominic). Here’s to another 12 weeks of soreness and exhaustion and victory – hopefully this time there will be less tears.
  • I’m writing this from the same desk I sat as an intern… except today I’m full-time, baby! That’s right, the stars aligned and the voodoo magic kicked in and my corporate internship offered me a full-time marketing position. I’ve been at it for a couple of weeks and there’s tons of work to be done. Too blessed to be stressed.
  • My job offer came at maybe the very last reasonable moment, but after lots (and lots and lots) of struggle I have moved in to my big girl one bedroom apartment! I love it so much. I love the yard, I love that it’s not a shoebox, I love the giant kitchen, and I love it despite not being fully furnished. I’ll definitely share some pictures as I fill it up.

General Concerns About Adulthood

If I had to pick something that I thought was wholly representative of what it’s like to be an adult, it would be the fine print on the bottom of every single document you’ve carelessly clicked through or signed off on up to this point. Here are the questions I have (so far):

  • What the hell is a 401K and how do I deal?
  • There are so many types of insurance. Do I really need all of this?
  • MY PAYCHECK ISN’T AS BIG AS I WAS ANTICIPATING WHAT HAPPENED?!
  • How do people sit at their desks for forty hours a week?
  • Why am I still tired after 8 hours of sleep?
  • HOW DO YOU MEET PEOPLE OUTSIDE OF COLLEGE?????

Joys of Being an Adult

Short, but sweet:

  • Coming home from work and not having to study – a luxury I did not enjoy as an undergraduate
  • Happy hours
  • Paying for things on my own – a double-edged sword; trying to look at it more as a privilege than a burden
  • Cherished down time – earlier this summer I found that I had too much free time and I constantly felt listless and unproductive
  • All of the knowledge that comes with having failed so hard, so often in previous years

Share with me your concerns and joys of adulthood, won’t you? Just don’t come here looking for answers quite yet.